Champions League :Four countries Declares Interest In Hosting 2022 UEFA

Four countries Declares Interest In Hosting 2022 UEFA Nations League

FILE: Portugal’s forward Cristiano Ronaldo (front C) celebrates with teammates after the UEFA Nations League final football match between Portugal and The Netherlands at the Dragao Stadium in Porto on June 9, 2019. (Photo by GABRIEL BOUYS / AFP)


Belgium, Netherlands, Poland and Wales have has shown considerable interest in hosting the 2022/23 UEFA Nations League finals, European football’s governing body announced on Wednesday, aso Naija reports.

The deadline to submit final bid dossiers is October 5, and the hosts will be appointed in January 2023.

The finals will be held from June 14-18, 2023.

Portugal won the first edition at home in 2019. France defeated Spain 2-1 last October in the final of the 2020/21 edition in Italy.

The UEFA Champions League is an annual club football competition organised by the Union of European Football Associations and contested by top-division European clubs, deciding the competition winners through a round robin group stage to qualify for a double-legged knockout format, and a single leg final.

It is one of the most prestigious football tournaments in the world and the most prestigious club competition in European football, played by the national league champions (and, for some nations, one or more runners-up) of their national associations.

Introduced in 1955 as the Coupe des Clubs Champions Européens (French for European Champion Clubs’ Cup), and commonly known as the European Cup, it was initially a straight knockout tournament open only to the champions of Europe’s domestic leagues, with its winner reckoned as the European club champion. The competition took on its current name in 1992, adding a round-robin group stage in 1991 and allowing multiple entrants from certain countries since the 1997–1998 season.

It has since been expanded, and while most of Europe’s national leagues can still only enter their champion, the strongest leagues now provide up to four teams. Clubs that finish next-in-line in their national league, having not qualified for the Champions League, are eligible for the second-tier UEFA Europa League competition, and from 2021, teams not eligible for the UEFA Europa League will qualify for a new third-tier competition called the UEFA Europa Conference League.


What do you think?

Written by Elizabeth O.

Oyinlola Elizabeth O. Is a prolific SEO Analyst/content writer who is based vastly on different beats/niches. She is also a metaphysical poet and a chemical scientist with improved knowledge in western modernization/persuasive
essay constructions. Elizabeth O. has helped different websites to generate google ranking
and AdSense.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cute Abiola And Actor Itele Blasted For Allegedly Sleeping With Same Lady

Elon Musk Declares Intention To Buy Twitter